Staff Survey Series: Dylan Key

Dylan Key

Job at Undermain:  Associate Director

Describe your typical day/duties at the theatre.

Oh dear, what is typical…one day it’s reading new scripts, auditioning actors, and meeting with designers, the next day it’s reviewing grant applications, attending fundraising events, programming interns and editing promotional media.  And I fix the printer.

 When I am not at Undermain, I am: In the theatre at CistercianPreparatory School.  I’m on the Upper School faculty where I teach Drama to a group of terrific young men.  We’re doing A Midsummer Night’s Dream this Spring with some help from Ursuline Academy.  I also spend a lot of time and energy and early Saturday mornings following Manchester United.

My favorite play is:  Gosh, I don’t think I could possibly answer that; I like most things on their own terms… I always will have a soft spot in my heart for J.M. Synge.

 I have been involved in theater since: Let’s see, I played Oliver in Oliver! back in…4th grade maybe?

 I have seen more productions of ___________ than any other play.  Twelfth Night

My favorite production at Undermain has been:  Time in Kafka

Current non-theatrical obsession: My current cool obsession is probably photography.  My very uncool obsession these days is FIFA 13.

 Favorite theatrical tradition: Curtain calls

Favorite aspect/quirk about Undermain: Can I pick Murray St. Coffee Shop?

 If I could see any theatrical production in history, It would be:  Well…since there are tapes of West Side Story and Grotowski’s Akropolis, . maybe Cocteau’s Parade.

 If I had to describe what I love about theater in one word, it would be: Quiet

