Staff Survey Series: Maryam Baig

IMG_9830

Job at Undermain:  development associate

Describe your typical day/duties at the theatre. Grant research and writing.  Handling donor/patron/development related issues.  Donor database management.  Pledge/Donation processing.  Board/Committee/Donor management.  Donor development.

When I am not at Undermain, I am:  at other theaters, art galleries, in my kitchen inventing new dishes, taking the train to ridiculously cheap and incredibly delicious food places around the city, reading in the sunlight, watching films at 5 in the morning.  Dreaming of being in Karachi, Pakistan.

 My favorite play is:  The Seagull/A Midsummer Night’s Dream/A Dream Play

I have been involved in theater since: 2001

I have seen more productions of A Midsummer Night’s Dream than any other play.

My favorite production at Undermain has been: Blasted

 Current non-theatrical obsession: (how is anything/anyone non-theatrical?)

 Favorite theatrical tradition: being afraid of what, if disrespected, the Scottish play might do…muahahahahahahahahaha!

Favorite aspect/quirk about Undermain:  tea in proper tea-cups!

If I could see any theatrical production in history, it would be: glamour, starring Suzanne Thomas and Bruce Dubose

If I had to describe what love about theater in one word, it would be: truth

Maryam ponders the soul-searching questions on her survey.

Maryam ponders the soul-searching questions on her survey.