Staff Survey Series: Ben Bryant

Ben Bryant

Job at Undermain: Facilities Manager/Master Electrician.  I assist with set builds and am in charge of general upkeep of physical facility.

 Describe your typical day/duties at the theatre.

During  production- Build or handle notes on current set.  Lunch.  Continue building/handling notes until 5PM or pulled off onto something else.

Non-Production- Clean or reorganize storage areas.  Replenish supplies, possibly make notes on needed equipment.  Assist office staff with maintenance of office/kitchen/bathrooms.  Lunch.  Continue as above until 5.

When I am not at Undermain, I am:  In rehearsal/performance or at home.

My favorite play is: This is a toughy, and the following list is by no means definitive.

FAVORITE PLAY IN WHICH I PERFORMED A ROLE: The Boxer by Matt Lyle

TO HAVE WATCHED: Umlauf’s Bicycle  by Matt Posey

TO READ: Pygmalion by G.B. Shaw

TO DESIGN: King of the Road by Matt Posey

 I have been involved in theater since:   2001 (Professionally)

I have seen more productions of Night of the Living Dead at Dallas Children’s Theater  than any other play.

 My favorite production at Undermain has been:  The Dog Problem

Current non-theatrical obsession: Finding new digs by the end of April

 Favorite theatrical tradition: Acknowledging time calls with a “Thank you, __.”  (Tradition or common courtesy?  Hard to tell sometimes)

Favorite aspect/quirk about Undermain: N/A.  “Quirks” have over the course of time become “inconveniences.”

If I could see any theatrical production in history, It would be the original Off-Broadway production of “National Lampoon’s Lemmings” in 1973

