Staff Survey Series: Stephen Foglia

Stephen Foglia

Job at Undermain: Literary Manager

Describe your typical day/duties at the theatre. A lot of my time is spent acquiring plays, reading them, thinking about them, talking about them, and writing about them.  Woven around that is time I spend on the blog, drafting language for other Undermain communications, or supporting productions.

When I am not at Undermain, I am: Running, swimming, or writing if I’m in a productive mood.  Visiting the dogs at my parents’ house and catching up on TV otherwise.

My favorite play is: The Cherry Orchard.

I have been involved in theater since: Freshman years of high school.  I agreed to read next to a friend who wanted to audition for the one acts.  Turns out my standing there counted as an audition, and I was cast.

My favorite production at Undermain has been Probably Penelope.

Current non-theatrical obsession: Mostly just trying to keep new books on my nightstand and new movies in my DVD player.

Favorite theatrical tradition: I wouldn’t call this a tradition, exactly, but I’m a big fan of strike.  There’s something about how quickly we destroy all evidence of a thing we worked so hard to create.  How quickly the stage goes from being a scene of some enchantment to just another bare space with a pile of dust to be swept up.

Favorite aspect/quirk about Undermain: I love that we have a pool.  I wish I could convince people to swim more often.

If I could see any theatrical production in history, It would be: Well, assuming going to Ford’s Theatre and saving Lincoln is off the table…I’d love to check out a City Dionysia.  Aside from the theatrical pleasure of seeing the debut of a tragic cycle from Aeschylus, Sophocles, or Euripides (and, in many ways, the origins of theatre), taking part in the festival would be a hell of a time-travel experience.

If I had to describe what I love about theater in one word, it would be play.

