Staff Survey Series: Ryan Lescalleet

Ryan Lescalleet

Job at Undermain: Stage Manager/Company Manager

Describe your typical day/duties at the theatre.

During rehearsals, I schedule the actors/designers/crew and manage each rehearsal/photo-shoot/line-through/run. During production, I run the show and shut down the theater.

When I am not at Undermain, I am working at The Dallas Opera, playing with my dogs and catching up on all the TV shows I miss.

My favorite play is Death of a Salesman

I have been involved in theater since Freshman year of high school. I saw a rather impressive performance of Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof by a junior at my high school; I’ve been hooked ever since.

I have seen more productions of  A Christmas Carol than any other play.

My favorite production at Undermain has been: I have a soft spot for The Black Monk, but I had a blast working on Penelope.

Current non-theatrical obsession: The Dallas Cowboys. Always.

Favorite theatrical tradition: Actor warm-ups. I love to see everyone’s routine, even if it’s loud and obnoxious. I cherished working backstage because I got to see “the artist prepare” every night.

Favorite aspect/quirk about Undermain: The Columns. They are the first circles I have to draw on each page of blocking notes, and I’m always interested to see how Set Designers deal with them.

If I could see any theatrical production in history, It would be Michael Crawford in Phantom of the  Opera.

If I had to describe what love about theater in one word, it would be: Art.

